Play: What are the different situations a runner can run on a dropped third strike?
a. Can he run with no one on first base?
b. Can he run with no outs and a runner at first base?
c. Bases loaded with no outs, all three runners steal can the batter runner run on the dropped third strike?
Rule: Rule 8-1b 1 & 2. The batter can run on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base is unoccupied or there are two out. If there are two out he can run regardless of first base being occupied.
When the bases are loaded and the runners are stealing he cannot run to first base with less than two out if there is a dropped third strike. Runners are deemed to hold the base they held prior to the pitch until they touch the next base so that means R1 is considered to be at first base when the third strike is dropped. Rule 8-4b. If there are two outs then the batter can run on the dropped third strike even with bases loaded.