D.P. / Flex Question
Play: The DP bats and gets on base. You then bring the Flex player into the game to run for the DP. This means you are now playing with 9 players. At this point there has been no substitution. At the end of the inning or when it is the DP turn to bat they re-enter the DP. After the DP gets on base they again bring the Flex player in to run. This move means that the DP is no longer eligible to play in that game. They then announce a substitute for the Flex player when the turn to bat happens again. Can the flex player run for the substitute?
The DP gets on first base and you bring the FLEX into the game to run for the DP. You are correct that you are going down to 9 players but this change must be reported to the umpire (Rule 4-5 f 1 & 2). If the change is not announced it is an illegal substitution. Any time a player leaves the line-up card it is considered a substitution so any time your line-up reverts to 9 players it must be reported and the illegal substitution penalties apply if it is not reported. The DP is the one in violation not the Flex in your play.
At the end of the inning they re-enter the DP-this is a legal. Rule 4-6a. The FLEX player reverts to his 10th position in the line-up unless the DP is going to play both offence and defence. If the DP is playing both offence and defence the FLEX is removed from the line-up and you play with 9 players. The DP re-entering must be announced and if the Flex leaves the game it must be announced to the umpire. Rule 4-5h1.
After the DP gets on base they bring the FLEX into run for the DP. You are correct in saying the starting DP is no longer eligible to play because the starting player can only re-enter one time. Rule 4-5b and Rule 4-6a
They then announce a substitute for the flex player when he is due to bat. This is legal (Rule 4-5f) As long as the FLEX returns to the 10th position after he runs for the DP he is not considered to have left the game. The substitute must be announced to the umpire.
Can the FLEX run for the substitute DP if the Substitute DP gets on base? Yes. Rule 4-5f. Once the substitute leaves the game he cannot return because only starting players can re-enter a game. If the FLEX comes to bat again and the team has an eligible substitute the FLEX can revert back to the 10th position. If the substitute gets another hit or on base the team can bring the FLEX into the offensive line-up to run again. They can continue to do this as long as they have substitutes to take on the DP role. Each time the FLEX replaces the substitute that substitute is finished for the game.