Runner on 1st base (R1). The batter hits a deep fly ball to right field. F9 looks like he might be able to catch the fly ball so R1 tags up. The BR rounds 1st base beyond the base and beyond R1 who is tagging up. R1 proceeds to 2nd base when the fly ball is not caught by F9. The throw is on time and R1 is thrown out at 2nd base without a tag being applied.
Question: Since the BR is immediately declared “Out” for having passed a preceding runner (R1), is the force play at 2nd base still in effect or is the defense required to tag R1 to get the out?
The defense must tag R1 to complete the out at second base because the force is removed once the batter- runner is called out for passing R1.
Rule 8-9e says the runner is out if he physically passes a proceeding runner. The out is called immediately when he passes the runner and the ball remains alive. Once the runner is called out R1 is not forced to go to second base so he must be tagged off the base before he reaches second base or returns to first base. Rule 8-9b.
The latter portion of SP Rule 1-31 & FP Rule 1-32 shows how it affects your play. “A force out is an out which can be made only when a runner loses the right to a base because the batter becomes a base-runner, and before the batter runner or succeeding runner is put out.”
In your play the BR is put out so the runner is not forced to advance. In order to have an out R1 must be tagged when he is off the base.
R1 and R3, 1 out, BR hits into a potential double play to F6. F6 fields ball and steps on second base for two out. F6 throws to F3 standing on first but R1 (who is out already) interferes with the throw and draws the interference call. U3 kills the play and calls BR out on the play. R3 has left with the hit and has crossed the plate when the interference occurs. PU does not allow the run. In the ensuing protest, the run was allowed.
Rule: The run does not count. If the third out of the inning is a force out or before the batter runner is legally put out before reaching first base no run may score. Rule 5-8b1. You are correct in allowing R3 to stay at home plate if we had only two out because runners go to last base touched at the time of the infraction in FP. Rule 8-8h Effect sec.8h
In SP the runner is returned to the last base touched at the time of the pitch so the run would not count. SP Rule 8-8 Effect sec. 8-a-e.
Normally when a runner who is out cause’s interference the runner closest to home is out but because the runner crossed the plate before the infraction the BR is out as he is the only runner left on base. Once he is called out, it is considered a force out because he did not legally get to first base so Rule 5-8b1 takes affect and the run cannot count.
What if the interference had not occurred where the third out was not in a force out situation with all other factors being the same (R3 scoring before the interference). Does that make any difference?
Rule: If the third out were not a force out then the run would count in FP because the runner crossed home plate prior to the interference. Rule 8-8h effect sec.8h. In Slo-pitch the runners are returned to the last base touched at the time of the pitch so the run does not count. Rule 8-8 Effect sec 8 a-e
R1, R2 no outs. Right handed batter hits ball off end of bat and it spins tightly down first base line in foul territory in the direction of coach`s box, where the coach bends over and picks up the ball although it is still spinning wildly and heading towards first base line. The plate umpire has not declared a foul ball yet and the coach`s box is only 6-8 feet (not 12) off the first base line. No one complained but the umpires in the half inning asked each other what to do if they had. The coach was in the front of the coach`s box, which made him approximately 15 feet up the line.
1. Should or could there have been an out called, for him touching a live ball even though it was clearly foul when he touched it?
2. Does it make a difference whether he is in or out of coach`s box?
3. Does the improperly lined out coach`s box come into play?
4. If an out is declared, who is out and is there more than one?
5. Would the call be any different if the coach walked over and absent-mindedly picked the ball up clearly only 6 inches foul?
1. In order to have an interference called the player must have been able to make an out. In your play, the ball is on the ground in foul territory so no out is achievable. If the ball was in the air interference could be called if the ball is playable by a fielder. SP Rule 8-2J & FP Rule 8-2k
2. A coach’s box is not a sanctuary. The coach must get out of the way of any fielder attempting to field a batted or thrown ball. On a thrown ball, the coach must intentionally interfere to have interference. FP Rule 8-9 p SP Rule 8-9r
3. Preventative umpire could have taken care of this problem. The umpires should have directed the home team to make a proper coach’s box. The box has no bearing on calling interference on this play. Regardless of the size of the coach’s box, the determination to call interference is based on the ability of the defensive team to achieve an out. The ball being on the ground in foul territory indicates no out is achievable.
4. When a coach interferes with a thrown ball or interferes with a defensive player’s opportunity to make a play on a runner or batter runner the runner closest to home is out. FP Rule 8-9p effect Sec. 9p. SP effect Effect sec.9r. For a foul fly ball, we use SP Rule 8-2j & FP Rule 8-2k in which case the batter runner is out. In coach’s interference, there is no opportunity to get more than one out.
5. No, the distance the ball is foul has no bearing on this ruling. If the ball is on the ground in foul territory, no interference is called but the umpires should warn the coach about touching a ball before it is legally declared foul. After a warning, a future incident should result in an ejection of the coach. –that is when the “Car door open and motor running” is necessary!
The play is as follows. R2 and R3 with 1 0ut. B1 hits a fly ball high to the infield and the plate umpire calls infield fly batter is out. The batter goes into the dugout because he is called out. After the play has stopped the coach questions the umpire on the infield fly call. He admits he was wrong but says the batter is still out because he left the field of play.
The umpire has made an error and his call is protest able because his call was not judgment but an error in administering the rule. An infield fly must have runners at first and second. He called it with runners at second and third base. He further compounded his mistake saying the runner was still out because he entered the dugout. He cannot call the runner out for entering the dugout because it was his error that caused the player to go into the dugout. An umpire error can be corrected if the player is placed in jeopardy due to the umpire mistake. (Rule 10-6 d)
If this tournament had no protest rule you do not have the ability to correct the umpire mistake. I would make sure the ruling is given to the league executive in charge of the tournament for future situations.
R2, on a batted ball, interferes with F6 fielding the ball. It is not a situation where the interference was an attempt to prevent a double play. R2 is called out for interference. Where in the rule book does it state that the batter is awarded first base? I said it is understood that he gets 1st base because after hitting the ball to F6, he advances to first base and no play is made on him as a result of the interference by R2.
Response: You are correct in saying the batter is awarded first if interference is called on a runner after being hit by a batted ball. In these situations the person who interferes is always out unless the runner is touching a base when hit. Rule 8-1 deals with a batter becoming a base runner. The reference for your question is found in Rule 8-1 d Effect 1d-3a and also the Exception which is for a runner being hit while on a base.
I ejected a player at the end of his turn at bat. He was not the third out of the inning so his team was continuing to bat. I asked the coach for a replacement. The coach stated that he did not have to provide a replacement until that player took a defensive position (i.e., in the next half inning) or that position batted again. During the game I disagreed with the coach. My partner agreed with the coach so I allowed the game to continue without a replacement. I decided that pursuing the situation with the coach at that time would not have been profitable. However, that situation has bothered me since. I cannot find anything in the rule book or case book that talks about the timing of a replacement for an ejected player. My intuition tells me that the coach should be required to name a replacement immediately. First, it is cleaner; all positions in the batting order are properly filled at all times. Second, if the team does not have a replacement for the ejected player, the team should forfeit the game immediately. If the situation was in the bottom of the 7th inning, the team in question could conceivably win the game after the ejection while not having a legal number of players in the batting line-up. I said the coach would not have to provide a replacement until the time the place in the order is due up or the spot is required defensively.
Response: Once a player is ejected he is no longer in the game and the team must immediately give the umpire the substitution. If the coach fails to give the name of the new substitute, the team is playing short handed. There are no provisions in the Softball Canada Rules to play short handed. Rule 4-3a lists the required positions of the line-up. Rule 4-3 Note states a team must have the required number of players in the team area required to continue the game. If the coach refuses to give the name of the substitute for the ejected player the game is forfeited.
Rule 5-4c 2) and 5-4c7
1 out, R3, B1 has a count of two balls and two strikes. On the next pitch B1 drops the bat and starts running to first base. In the confusion D2 throws the ball to first base and R3 scores from third base.
If the pitch was a strike allow the play to happen. The defensive team must be aware of the situation. The team needs to educate their players that a batter cannot run to first if the third strike is caught. If the pitch was a ball, call time immediately when the runner takes off and send the runner back to third base.
This appears to be a set play and it is not in the spirit of the rules so by calling TIME you are simply informing the offensive player she must return and complete her turn at bat. This protects the defensive player from the deception created by the batter.