Rule 1-39 SP & Rule 3-1 e 1 SP
Force out after base on balls
Bottom of 7th inning, bases loaded, 2 out and a score of 2-1 for the visitors. B1 is awarded a base on balls. R1 does not advance to second base and before the team has left the field they appeal R1 for not touching second base. Is this a force out and does the run count?
No run would score. If the appeal is upheld it becomes a force out because the runner is forced to go to second base due to the batter becoming a runner. Despite the walk, the runner is still obligated to touch the next base. If the runner does not touch the base the runner is out if appealed and in this situation it becomes a force out. No run can score if the third out of the inning is a force out. Rule 1-31 SP and 1-32 FP (Definition of Force out). Rule 5-8b2 FP and SP. (No runs score if third out of the inning is a force out) Rule 8-4i and effect 4e-i FP and SP (Runner who walks must touch bases in legal order)