Softball Canada Names 2014 Junior Men’s National Team Roster

Published by Gilles LeBlanc

Published on May 14, 2014


(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is pleased to announce the seventeen (17) athletes who have been selected to represent Canada at the ISF X Junior Men’s World Championship that will take place July 11-20, 2014 in Whitehorse, YT. The final roster was selected by the Junior Men’s National Team coaching staff following a selection camp held last weekend in Brampton, ON.

Team Canada will feature one returning player (Taylor Schubada of Irma, AB) from the 2012 Junior Men’s National Team, which finished fourth at the previous ISF Junior Men’s World Championship held in Parana, Argentina in November 2012. The host team from Argentina won Gold in 2012 – becoming the very first South American country to win the World title in any category – while Japan earned Silver and Australia took Bronze.

The athletes who will represent Canada at the ISF X Junior Men’s World Championship in Whitehorse, Yukon from July 11-20 are:


Name Hometown
Johnathan Baker Kitchener, ON 
Samuel Bedard-Desmarais Nicolet, QC
Justin Boyer  St. Louis, SK 
Josh Elliot  Prince Albert, SK
Justin Ganie Irma, AB
Eric Healey Chapels Cove, NL
Zachary MacKay Irma, AB
Tyler Pauli Mitchell, ON
Nick Penner New Hamburg, ON
Curtis Piecowye Saskatoon, SK
Matthew Pilon Duck Lake, SK
Tyler Randerson New Hamburg, ON
Francois-Charles Rene St-Leonard-d'Aston, QC
Taylor Schubada Irma, AB
Marc-Andre Villeneuve St-Leonard-d'Aston, QC
Matt Wardrop Owen Sound, ON
Tyson Zehr Tavistock, ON

Coaching Staff

Position Name Hometown
Head Coach Jim Jones Leduc, AB
Assistant Coach Doug Chase Port Alberni, BC
Assistant Coach Fred Redhead Leduc, AB
Assistant Coach George Ryder Port Dover, ON
Athletic Therapist Mark Kiervin Saint John, NB
Team Leader Duke Cormier Summerside, PEI
Manager - National Teams Mike Branchaud Ottawa, ON

There will also be three Softball Canada umpires working the event: Daryl Helmer (AB), Scott McLaren (BC) and Terry Richter (AB). ISF Director of Umpires Bob Stanton (NB) will serve as the tournament’s Umpire in Chief, with Softball Canada National Director of Umpires Jeff Whipple (NB) acting as one of two assistant Umpires in Chief.

A total of ten (10) teams will participate at the event, with a single round robin format in the preliminary round. The top four teams will advance to the page playoff round while the bottom six team will compete in a consolation playoff round.

Team Canada Schedule

Date Game Time
July 11 Canada vs. Czech Republic 7:30pm PDT
July 12 Canada vs. Argentina 7:30pm PDT
July 13 Canada vs. United States 7:30pm PDT
July 14 Canada vs. New Zealand 7:30pm PDT
July 15 Canada vs. Australia 7:30pm PDT
July 16 Canada vs. Mexico 2:00pm PDT
  Canada vs. Denmark 7:30pm PDT
July 17 Canada vs. Japan 7:30pm PDT
July 18 Canada vs. Singapore 5:00pm PDT
July 19 Playoff Round TBD
July 20 Medal Round TBD

Live Pointstreak scoring, webstreaming and Ballpark Radio broadcast will be available through the ISF IX Junior Men’s World Championship’s official website:

The event can also be followed on Facebook (2014 Junior Men’s World Softball) and Twitter (@2014jrsoftball).

How to Follow Team Canada
Softball Canada Website:


For more information please contact:

Gilles LeBlanc
Manager – Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
(613) 523-3386 ext 3105

Web + Database Design