Softball Canada Announces 2014 Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool

Published by Gilles LeBlanc

Published on December 10, 2013

  mapleleaflogo.jpg(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of athletes who have been selected to the 2014 Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool. In 2014, the Senior Men’s National Team will compete at the Pan American Championship which will take place from October 25 to November 2, 2014 in Parana, Argentina.

The Pan American Championship will serve as a qualifier for the 2015 International Softball Federation (ISF) XIV Men’s World Championship which will be held June 26 to July 5, 2015 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan and also for the 2015 Pan American Games that will take place the following week in Toronto, Ontario.

Canada is the defending champion of the Pan American Championship, having defeated Venezuela 4-1 to win the Gold medal at the previous event held in Colombia in 2012.

"The Senior Men's National Team coaching staff are excited about our 40-man athlete pool" said Men’s National Team Head Coach Don Bates. "Offensively, we have a good mix of speed, power, and on-base percentage. Defensively we are solid in the infield, outfield, behind the plate, and in the pitcher’s circle. We have a number of young talented players who we feel will be challenging for starting positions."

The athletes who have been selected to the 2014 Canadian Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool are:

Bryan Abrey (Richmond, BC) Blake Hunter (Nanaimo, BC)
Donnelly Archibald (Antigonish, NS) Mark Johnson (Glencoe, ON)
Brian Banner (Sooke, BC) Paul Koert (Brooklin, ON)
Ryan Boland (St. John’s, NL) Rowan Lam (Glencoe, ON)
Shane Boland (Goulds, NL) Scott Lieph (Sooke, BC)
Sean Cleary (Harbour Main, NL) Derek Mayson (North Vancouver, BC)
Justin Dauvin (Bruno, SK) Devon McCullough (Saskatoon, SK)
Jeff Ellsworth (St. Lawrence, PEI) Dan Mitchell (Paris, ON)
Trevor Ethier (Saskatoon, SK) Steve Mullaley (Freshwater, NL)
Blair Ezekiel (Harbour Main, NL) Brennan Pokoyoway (Saskatoon, SK)
Brad Ezekiel (Harbour Main, NL) Mathieu Roy (St-Gervais, QC)
Jeff Farion (Saskatoon, SK) Jason Sanford (Durham, NS)
Ian Fehrman (Townsend, ON) Kevin Schellenberg (Squamish, BC)
Ryan French (Kitchener, ON) Justin Schofield (Wolfville, NS)
Justin Gill (St. John’s, NL) Don Scott (Stratford, ON)
Matt Greer (Shawville, QC) Andy Skelton (Scarborough, ON)
Mitch Hardy (Alberton, PEI) Kris Walushka (Victoria, BC)
Jason Hill (St. John’s, NL) Sean Whitten (Calgary, AB)
Adam Hiller (Elmira, ON) Ben Wideman (Elmira, ON)
Brandon Horn (Waterloo, ON) Ryan Wolfe (Melbourne, ON)

The coaching staff reserves the right to add or remove athletes from this list at any time.

Coaching Staff

Head Coach Don Bates (Saskatoon, SK)
Assistant Coach Les Howey (Conception Bay, NL)
Assistant Coach John Stuart (Vancouver, BC)
Assistant Coach TBD
Manager – National Teams Mike Branchaud (Ottawa, ON)


For more information, please contact:

Gilles LeBlanc
Manager – Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
(613) 523-3386 ext. 3105

Web + Database Design