Softball Canada Announces 2014 Junior Men’s National Team Selection Camp Roster

Published by Gilles LeBlanc

Published on November 12, 2013

  mapleleaflogo.jpg(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of athletes who have been named to the 2014 Junior Men’s National Team Selection Camp Roster. These athletes will attend a Selection Camp from May 22-25, 2014 in Brampton, ON, with the final team going on to compete at the ISF Junior Men’s World Championship from July 11-20, 2014 in Whitehorse, YK.

“I am very pleased with the top thirty-two selections for the Junior Men’s National Team program” said Junior Men’s National Team Head Coach Jim Jones. “Our coaching staff and our contacts throughout Canada have worked very hard to make our camp in May as competitive as possible.”

Canada finished fourth at the previous ISF Junior Men’s World Championship held in Parana, Argentina in 2012, with Argentina winning Gold, Japan taking Silver and Australia with Bronze. The event was held in Whitehorse in 2008, when Canada lost 2-1 in eight innings to Australia in the Gold medal game to win the Silver medal.

“We have had to make some very difficult decisions to get to this point and anticipate some even more difficult decisions to get to our top seventeen” added Jones. “It is imperative that each player understands the caliber of the top six teams in the ISF World Championship and commits to compete for a spot on Team Canada. Those players that are training now and plan to continue to do so leading up to the camp in May will have the best chance of making Team Canada and help bring home a Gold medal.”

The athletes who have been named to the 2014 Junior Men’s National Team Selection Camp Roster are:


Alex Anthony (Shubenacadie, NS) Zachary MacKay (Irma, AB)
Johnathan Baker (Kitchener, ON) Layne O'Halloran (Port Perry, ON)
Taylor Barber (Saskatoon, SK) Tyler Pauli (Mitchell, ON)
Samuel Bédard-Desmarais (Nicolet, QC) Nick Penner (New Hamburg, ON)
Branden Blunt (Napanee, ON) Curtis Piecowye (Saskatoon, SK)
Justin Boyer (St. Louis, SK) Matthew Pilon (Duck Lake, SK)
Quinten Bruce (Grand Valley, ON) Tyler Randerson (New Hamburg, ON)
Brendon Donegan (Aggassiz, BC) François-Charles René (St-Léonard-d'Aston, QC)
Brent Eby (Waterloo, ON) Taylor Schubada (Irma, AB)
Josh Elliot (Prince Albert, SK) Jeffrey St. Pierre (Port Perry, ON)
Justin Ganie (Irma, AB) Dylan Taylor (Grand Valley, ON)
Brendan Hall (Orton, ON) Marc-André Villeneuve (St-Léonard-d'Aston, QC)
Eric Healey (Chapels Cove, NL) Matt Wardrop (Owen Sound, ON
Travis Hyde (Tavistock, ON) Jared Weishar (Teeswater, ON)
Anthony Lapierre (St-Gervais, QC) Haaken Zatterberg (Napanee, ON)
Alexandre Lemieux (St-Gervais, QC) Tyson Zehr (Tavistock, ON)

The coaching staff reserves the right to add or remove athletes from this roster at any time.

Coaching Staff

Head Coach Jim Jones (Leduc, AB)
Assistant Coach Doug Chase (Port Alberni, BC)
Assistant Coach George Ryder (Port Dover, ON)
Assistant Coach TBD
Team Leader Duke Cormier (Summerside, PEI)
Manager – National Teams Mike Branchaud (Ottawa, ON)


For more information, please contact:

Gilles LeBlanc
Manager – Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
(613) 523-3386 ext. 3105


Web + Database Design