2014 ISF Women's World Championship

Event runs 15 August, 2014 — 24 August, 2014


(Haarlem, Netherlands) The Canadian Senior Women’s National Team is ready to compete at the ISF XIV Women’s World Championship from August 15-24 in Haarlem, Netherlands. 

At the previous ISF Women’s World Championship held in Whitehorse, Yukon in 2012, Japan defeated the United States 2-1 in ten innings in the Gold medal game, ending the Americans streak of seven consecutive world titles. Australia beat Canada 3-1 to advance to the medal round and went on to win bronze, with Canada finishing fourth. At the 2010 ISF World Championship held in Venezuela, Canada earned its first-ever National Team World Championship medal by winning a pair of tight playoff games against Australia and China on Canada Day to advance to the medal round and earning a bronze medal.

Team Canada Schedule

Date Game Time Media
August 15 Canada vs. Puerto Rico 7:30am EDT W 3-2
August 16 Canada vs. Czech Republic 1:00pm EDT W 8-1
August 17 Canada vs. New Zealand 2:00pm EDT W 8-1
August 19 Canada vs. China 2:00am EDT W 2-0
  Canada vs. Japan 1:00pm EDT L 4-0
August 20 Canada vs. Russia 10:30am EDT W 11-0
August 21 Canada vs. Cuba 6:30am EDT W 7-0
August 23 Playoff: Canada vs. United States 8:30am EDT L 6-1
  Playoff: Canada vs. Chinese Taipei 1:00pm EDT W 2-1
  Playoff: Canada vs. Australia 5:30pm EDT L 7-3

The athletes who will represent Canada at the ISF XIV Women’s World Championship in Haarlem, Netherlands are:


# Name Pos Date of Birth Hometown
29 Jenna Caira P April 1, 1989 Toronto, ON
26 Larissa Franklin OF March 26, 1993 Maple Ridge, BC
24 Jenny Gilbert OF February 3, 1992 Saskatoon, SK
17 Sara Groenewegen P April 12, 1994 Surrey, BC
4 Megan Gurski IF/P January 22, 1994 Dalmeny, SK
8 Victoria Hayward OF April 11, 1992 Toronto, ON
77 Sara Hopwood IF February 27, 1989 Richmond, BC
6 Karissa Hovinga P January 28, 1993 Edmonton, AB
9 Caitlin Lever OF March 12, 1985 Buffalo, NY
5 Joey Lye UT May 4, 1987 Toronto, ON
15 Sara Plourde P January 27, 1990 Fredericton, NB
7 Erika Polidori OF January 26, 1992 Brantford, ON
55 Kaleigh Rafter C August 18, 1986 Guelph, ON
13 Carey-Leigh Thomas IF September 14, 1992 Ohsweken, ON
14 Megan Timpf IF January 21, 1984 Port Dover, ON
20 Natalie Wideman C January 11, 1992 Mississauga, ON
22 Jen Yee 2B June 14, 1987 North Delta, BC

Coaching Staff

Position Name Hometown
Head Coach Mark Smith Falmouth, NS
Assistant Coach Melissa Basilio Pickering, ON
Assistant Coach Glenn Boles St. Catharines, ON
Assistant Coach Rob Guenter Victoria, BC
Assistant Coach Ken Leavoy Vancouver, BC
Assistant Coach Dave Paetkau Abbotsford, BC
Osteopathic Manual Practicioner Don Griffis Vancouver, BC
Team Leader Lisa Down Saskatoon, SK
Manager - Women's NT Alison Bradley Pinkerton, ON


Name Province
Joyce Bellini Quebec
Genevieve Gaudreau Quebec

A total of thirteen (16) teams will participate at the event, which will feature two pools. The top four teams from each pool will advance to the playoff round, while the top two teams from each division will earn double life.

Live scoring will be available on the event website at http://www.wcsoftball2014.com/en/home, with webstreaming available for purchase through http://isf.sportzcast.net/.

The event can also be followed on Facebook (World Championship Softball 2014) and Twitter (@WCSoftball2014).
How to Follow Team Canada
Softball Canada Website: http://www.softball.ca
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/SoftballCanada
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/SoftballCanadaNSO


For more information, please contact:

Gilles LeBlanc
Manager - Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
(613) 523-3386 ext. 3105

Web + Database Design