Home Run Sports Umpire of the Year Award 


Do you know an umpire who:
  • respects everyone who is involved with the game and demonstrates good   sportsmanship?
  • is involved with officials program development in your area?
  • is a positive umpiring role model?
  • tries to become a better umpire through education and training?
  • contributes to local umpire programs through instructing or   evaluating?
  • shares their expertise with the softball community?

If you answered YES to these questions,
then this person is a candidate for the
Softball Canada / Home Run Sports Umpire of the Year

Individuals or groups in your province/territory have the chance to submit their nomination for the "Umpire of the Year" Award.

Don't miss the opportunity to have your umpires, and their achievements, recognized across Canada.

The deserving recipient of the "Umpire of the Year" Award will be brought by Softball Canada to the Softball Canada Annual General Meeting for two days and one night, and will be honoured at the Softball Canada Congress.

The "Umpire of the Year" nomination form is below, so have people or groups get their application into Softball Canada now!


  1. The umpire shall be a Canadian citizen / landed immigrant.
  2. The umpire shall be fully certified (at any softball level) to qualify.
  3. The umpire shall have served in a volunteer officiating position(s) for a minimum of 4 years.
  4. The umpire shall have contributed to umpire development as an instructor, evaluator, mentor, or program developer.
  5. The umpire shall have a high level of officiating ability.

Nominations should include:

    • Umpire’s name, address, and phone number(s)
    • Name, address, and phone number(s) of nominating individual or group
    • Record of nominee’s umpiring experience
    • Record of umpiring achievements
    • Umpire’s role in developing and improving the officiating aspect of the sport
    • Personal highlights in the current year
The deadline for "Umpire of the Year" nominations is:
  September 3

Click here to download the
Umpire of the Year nomination form

*Please save the file, fill it out and email to Donna Ozarko at (dozarko@softball.ca)

2014 Home Run Sports Umpire of the Year

Sandra Allan has been actively umpiring since 2003, and after receiving her level V certification in 2013, she continued to be active on the field this summer, working over 100 games at several provincial and regional events. She served as Umpire Supervisor at two provincial tournaments and was the umpire liaison at the U16 Boys Canadian Fast Pitch Championships. Sandra is also very active in recruiting young female umpires to the program in New Brunswick, organizes technical clinics for local umpires and travels throughout the province to assist with tournaments and helps prepare umpires for Canadian Championships.

Sandra is a very professional umpire both on and off the field. During the game, she is what an umpire should be; she wears her official’s uniform with pride, she is technically correct, she is clear, concise and if necessary and when required, takes the time to explain to players, parents and coaches rules and/or decisions. She is a consistent official and treats all level of softball with the same attitude whether it’s a U10 mite jamboree or an intermediate men’s fastpitch tournament. She is a professional umpire all the time and is reachable and helpful to everyone.

In addition, in her role as New Brunswick’s Region 3 Umpire-in-Chief, she led the local umpire association as they served as host for the Eastern Canadian Men’s Fast Pitch Championship. This was a successful fundraising initiative to support the attendance of young umpires at Softball Canada’s Blue Convention to be held in Richmond, BC in 2016. Sandra is a very respected umpire locally in her region, in New Brunswick and across Canada. She brings respect to the game by showing her enjoyment of being on the diamond and in the game.

Previous Umpire of the Year Award Recipients:

2013 - Brent Chadwick (Saskatchewan)
2012 - Joyce Bellini (Quebec)
2011 - Keith Pender (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2010 - Moose Gibson (Saskatchewan)
2009 - Dick Coleman (Ontario)
2008 - Geneviève Gaudreau (Quebec)
2007 - Jack Van Bynen (Ontario)
2006 - Denis Bélanger (Quebec)
2005 - Bob Constantin (Alberta)
2004 - Chris Lee (British Columbia)
2003 - Don Bracey (Ontario)
2002 - Wayne Shipley (Nova Scotia)
2001 - Serge Laflamme (Quebec)
2000 - Keith Hazel (British Columbia)
1999 - Al Shenduk (Alberta)
1998 - Bob Stanton (New Brunswick)


Association Website Database System