Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year Award


This award, created by Softball Canada in 2008, recognizes the life and contributions of Rose Hodgson. Rose, who passed away in 2007 having served 9 years as an active Softball Canada Board member, contributed selflessly to the betterment of softball at the local, provincial and national levels. In her over 35 years as a volunteer, she always put players first and would support any initiative that gave them the opportunity to play and reach their dreams, whatever they were.

Nominees for this award can be volunteers from any level of the game. They will have supported the experiences of players through any number of contributions (outside of coaching and officiating where awards already exist). The theme of their nomination will be that they have tirelessly committed themselves to the game. They may have created or improved softball opportunities in their area, or simply added to the enjoyment of the game for those involved in the sport.

A letter of application, including references, supporting material and a letter of endorsement from the respective Provincial/Territorial association must be received at the Softball Canada office by September 15.

The successful candidate will be selected from within the region hosting the Annual Meeting that year. The presentation of the award will be done at the Softball Canada Annual Meeting.

2012 Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year Award

Gerri Dornstauder has been involved as a volunteer with several softball organizations in the Calgary area over the last 38 years. She is a Level III softball coach who organizes and delivers softball clinics, NCCP courses and seminars, and also supervises provincial championships and Learn to Play clinics. Gerri is also the Softball Alberta administrative representative in Calgary and has been an integral part of the Calgary Women’s Fast Pitch Association executive for many years.

A former elite-level Fast Pitch player, Gerri began her volunteer involvement as a Board member of the Calgary Minor Softball Association, where she started the Mite division and ensured its success. She was also heavily involved in the restructuring of the Calgary Women’s Fast Pitch Association, and was always ready to volunteer in all fundraising events and major championships held in the Calgary area.

Gerri has always embraced programs targeting children such as Learn to Play and Softball Alberta’s “Best Ever” programs given the fact they allow kids to improve their softball skills and learn about the game. She also excelled as a volunteer team manager and team leader for Canada Games, Western Canada Games and National team tryouts. Softball Canada is pleased to recognize Gerri as a fantastic volunteer and recipient of the 2012 Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year award.

Previous Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year Award Winners:

2011 - Sherry Maher (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2010 - Bryan Kosteroski (Saskatchewan)
2009 - Carl Littlejohns (Ontario)
2008 - Linda Petrie (Prince Edward Island)


Association Website Database System