Home Run Sports Coach of the Year Award


Do you know a coach who:

  • Respects everyone who is involved with the game and demonstrates good sportsmanship?
  • Is concerned with the complete development of all their players?
  • Is a positive coaching role model?
  • Tries to become a better coach through education and training?
  • Is able to improve the performance of the players and team they coach?
  • Shares their expertise with the softball community?

If you answered YES to these questions,
then this person is a candidate for the
Home Run Sports Coach of the Year


  1. The coach shall be a Canadian citizen / landed immigrant.
  2. The coach shall be fully certified (at any softball NCCP level) to qualify.
  3. The coach shall be nominated by a player, softball club or league executive, district softball organization, community service group, municipal council or local school board. (No personal nominations will be accepted.)

Nominations must include:

  • Coach's name, address, and phone number(s)
  • Name, address, and phone number(s) of nominating individual or group
  • Record of nominee's coaching experience
  • Coach's record of softball NCCP activity
  • Record of coaching achievements / player progress
  • Coach's role in developing and improving sport, coaching and athletes in their community
  • Personal highlights
  • Letter of support from respective Provincial/Territorial Softball Association
  • It is strongly recommended to include letters of support from athletes that have been coached by the nominee or letters from other sources to give the selection committee a good understanding of the nominee`s coaching ability
  • Picture of nominee. Can be a head and shoulders shot or a photo of nominee actively coaching
DEADLINE: October 1st
  (or next business day)

Click here to download the
Coach of the Year nomination form

2013 Home Run Sports Coach of the Year

Haylee O’Neill from Oakville, MB is not just a leader on the field, she is a leader in the softball community. She has a deep passion for the game of softball which is matched by a strong work ethic. She puts that passion and work ethic to good use in her coaching and volunteering in the sport she loves. As Team Manitoba’s Head Coach, Haylee led her women’s team to a silver medal (the highest finish ever for Manitoba) at the 2013 Canada Summer Games. She focuses on the holistic development of her athletes ensuring that they have the technical/tactical skills, mental skills, physical skills and proper nutrition habits necessary to excel. However, her greatest asset as a coach is that she is never too busy to take the time to work with and listen to each and every one of her athletes – making them all better players and more importantly better people.

As Softball Manitoba’s Master Learning Facilitator, she trains and develops Learning Facilitators to deliver the NCCP as well as passing her knowledge and experiences on to coaches by facilitating NCCP clinics. In addition, she is the Coordinator for Softball Manitoba’s Junior Clinician Program which trains young adults to be skills clinicians and is also involved in the Inner City Youth Softball Development Program. None of these programs would have reached their 2013 success without Haylee’s leadership and ability to share her coaching expertise.

This year Haylee was also named to Softball Canada’s Women’s National Team Coaches Pool assisting the team at various events this past summer. Her coaching ability is undeniably recognized within the softball community and any athlete that works with her is extremely privileged. She shows her passion, dedication and selflessness in everything she does. Haylee O’Neill is a very deserving recipient of the 2013 Home Run Sports Coach of the Year.

Previous Coach of the Year Award Winners:

2012 - Mike Soucy (Alberta)
2011 - Jamie Wentworth (Nova Scotia)
2010 - Earle Woodside (Saskatchewan)
2009 - Claude Vinet (Quebec)
2008 - Dave Bourne (Ontario)
2007 - Tyler Lorenz (British Columbia)
2006 - Jim Dunphy (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2005 - Marie-Claude Lapointe (Quebec)
2004 - Phil Thom (British Columbia)
2003 - Rocky Larson (Alberta)
2002 - Paul Doiron (Nova Scotia)
2001 - Allan Schwarz (Alberta)
2000 - Jerry Dugger (British Columbia)
1999 - Ray Gillis (New Brunswick)
1998 - Bob Turner (Manitoba)
1997 - Roger Ahern (Prince Edward Island)
1996 - Not awarded
1995 - Evelyn and Roy Holenski (Manitoba)
1994 - Louis Henri (New Brunswick)
1993 - David McLean (Saskatchewan)
1992 - Ian Belyea (Alberta)
1991 - Fred Jackson (Newfoundland & Labrador)
1990 - Emile Berube (Alberta)
1989 - Doug Holoien (Saskatchewan)


Association Website Database System