Claude Deschamps Memorial Award


The CLAUDE DESCHAMPS MEMORIAL AWARD was established in 1984 in honour of a former Executive Director of Softball Canada, Mr. Claude Deschamps.

This bursary is nationally administered by Softball Canada and is awarded annually to a female and male recipient towards their education. The recipients for this Award receive $1000.00 each and are chosen from the region* hosting the annual Softball Canada Congress (formerly known as the Annual General Meeting).

To qualify for this Award, the applicant must be:

  • Registered with the provincial/territorial association
  • In a minor category, for a minimum of two (2) years prior to the application
  • Be a resident of the province/territory
  • Be in attendance at a recognized educational institution at a post-secondary level.

Softball Canada by September 15 of each year must receive a letter of application, a completed application form, along with a letter of endorsement from the provincial/territorial office.

Note: Reference letter(s) may be included whenever possible.


Western: Saskatchewan, Alberta, Yukon Territory and British Columbia
Atlantic: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland & Labrador, and Prince Edward Island
Central: Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba, and Northwest Territories, Nunavut Territory

Click here to download the Claude Deschamps
Memorial Award Application Form

2016 Claude Deschamps Memorial Award Recipients

Taylor Lundrigan (Abbotsford, BC) is a third-year Bachelor of Arts student at Simon Fraser University majoring in Linguistics with a minor in Psychology. She is the starting shortstop of the SFU Clan, competing in NCAA Division II and is training with Team BC for the 2017 Canada Summer Games. Lundrigan was a member of Team Canada at the 2015 WBSC Junior Women’s World Softball Championship where the team finished fourth, and won a Gold medal as a member of the Delta Heat at the 2014 U18 Women’s Canadian Championship.

A member of the Women’s National Team Athlete Pool, Lundrigan’s goal is to represent Canada at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo. This past summer, she volunteered her time as a Simon Fraser University Youth Softball Camp Coordinator and also helped out at the Softball Canada Junior Women’s National Team Regional Identification Camp in Cloverdale, BC.

Tyler Randerson (New Hamburg, ON) recently began his first year of a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication Studies at Wilfrid Laurier University. He was a standout member of the Canadian Junior Men’s National Team, helping them to a Bronze medal at the 2016 WBSC World Championship with a 4-3 record and a 2.13 earned run average while striking out 61 batters in 42.2 innings. He was also a member of the 2014 Junior Men’s National Team that finished seventh at the World Championship.

Randerson has also been impressive at the national level, winning back-to-back Gold medals at the 2014 and 2015 U18 Men’s Canadian Championship and recently winning a Bronze medal at the 2016 U21 Men’s Canadian Championship. He is also a Junior C hockey player with the New Hamburg Firebirds, and his volunteered his time as an on-ice hockey instructor and as a pitching instructor for his local softball association. 

Previous Claude Deschamps Memorial Award Recipients:

2015 - Natalie Wideman (ON) and Matthew Wardrop (ON)
2014 - Kristen Byrne (NB) and Alex Harding (NB)
2013 - Jessica Raymond (ON) and Tom Fischer (ON)
2012 - Cassandra Dypchey (BC) and Ty Sebastian (ON)
2011 - Kayla Richards (NS) and Myles Coldwell (NS)
2010 - Shirrae Muhr (SK) and Michael Friedrich (AB)
2009 - Patricia Séguin (QC) and Brendan Roach (ON)
2008 - Alisha Sherwood (NB) and Matt Fromm (ON)
2007 - Rebecca Hartley (BC) and Brett Casavant (SK)
2006 - Holly White (NS) and Ryan Boland (NL)
2005 - Geneviève Houle (QC) and Mathieu Roy (QC)
2004 - Melanie Matthews (BC) and Jordan Matt (BC)
2003 - Chasity Findlay and Joe German
2002 - Kimberley Baglole (PEI) and Robert Doiron (NS)
2001 - Katy Wolfe (AB) and Sarah Smiley (AB)
2000 - Kristina Chrisztopoulosz (ON) and Chris Shewfelt (ON)
1999 - Virginia Barbosa (NS) and Kenneth McCullough (NS)
1998 - Trevor Ethier (SK)

Web + Database Design