Home Run Sports Coach of the Year Award


Do you know a coach who:

  • Respects everyone who is involved with the game and demonstrates good sportsmanship?
  • Is concerned with the complete development of all their players?
  • Is a positive coaching role model?
  • Tries to become a better coach through education and training?
  • Is able to improve the performance of the players and team they coach?
  • Shares their expertise with the softball community?

If you answered YES to these questions,
then this person is a candidate for the
Home Run Sports Coach of the Year


  1. The coach shall be a Canadian citizen / landed immigrant.
  2. The coach shall be fully certified (at any softball NCCP level) to qualify.
  3. The coach shall be nominated by a player, softball club or league executive, district softball organization, community service group, municipal council or local school board. (No personal nominations will be accepted.)

Nominations must include:

  • Coach's name, address, and phone number(s)
  • Name, address, and phone number(s) of nominating individual or group
  • Record of nominee's coaching experience
  • Coach's record of softball NCCP activity
  • Record of coaching achievements / player progress
  • Coach's role in developing and improving sport, coaching and athletes in their community
  • Personal highlights
  • Letter of support from respective Provincial/Territorial Softball Association
  • It is strongly recommended to include letters of support from athletes that have been coached by the nominee or letters from other sources to give the selection committee a good understanding of the nominee`s coaching ability
  • Picture of nominee. Can be a head and shoulders shot or a photo of nominee actively coaching
DEADLINE: October 1st
  (or next business day)

Click here to download the
Coach of the Year nomination form

2016 Home Run Sports Coach of the Year

Jean-Yves Doucet (St-Leonard-d’Aston, QC) is a tireless volunteer whose passion for the game shines through in everything he does both on and off the field. Jean-Yves coaches players from 5-6 up to the U21 age category. He helped to establish the Express de St-Leonard-d'Aston to provide boys the opportunity to play softball at a high level and compete at the national level. He organizes an after-school softball program at his local school. He has been the President of the Central Quebec Minor Softball League since 1990, and he is the co-chair of Softball Quebec’s Men's Softball Development Committee as well as a member of Softball Canada’s Male Fast Pitch Committee.

Jean-Yves understands the importance of the overall development of his athletes. This high-level coach works as diligently with young children as he does with his elite players. His high level technical and tactical knowledge has helped improve the athletic performance of his athletes often by devoting extra individual time to help those players develop. He brings instructors from across Canada to Quebec to help educate Team Quebec players and coaches. He is always looking for ways to learn more about the game.

Not only have his players had individual success but so have the teams he has coached. In 2013, Team Quebec won the gold medal at the U18 Men's Canadian Championship and in 2016 they won the gold medal at the U21 Men’s Canadian Championships. In 2015, Jean-Yves’s coaching abilities were recognized when he was selected as an Assistant Coach for Softball Canada’s Junior Men’s National Team which won the bronze medal at the 2016 WBSC Junior Men’s World Softball Championship.

Jean-Yves is also very involved on and off the field in growing the game.

Previous Coach of the Year Award Winners:

2015 - David Muswaggon (Manitoba)
2014 - John Hill (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2013 - Haylee O'Neill (Manitoba)
2012 - Mike Soucy (Alberta)
2011 - Jamie Wentworth (Nova Scotia)
2010 - Earle Woodside (Saskatchewan)
2009 - Claude Vinet (Quebec)
2008 - Dave Bourne (Ontario)
2007 - Tyler Lorenz (British Columbia)
2006 - Jim Dunphy (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2005 - Marie-Claude Lapointe (Quebec)
2004 - Phil Thom (British Columbia)
2003 - Rocky Larson (Alberta)
2002 - Paul Doiron (Nova Scotia)
2001 - Allan Schwarz (Alberta)
2000 - Jerry Dugger (British Columbia)
1999 - Ray Gillis (New Brunswick)
1998 - Bob Turner (Manitoba)
1997 - Roger Ahern (Prince Edward Island)
1996 - Not awarded
1995 - Evelyn and Roy Holenski (Manitoba)
1994 - Louis Henri (New Brunswick)
1993 - David McLean (Saskatchewan)
1992 - Ian Belyea (Alberta)
1991 - Fred Jackson (Newfoundland & Labrador)
1990 - Emile Berube (Alberta)
1989 - Doug Holoien (Saskatchewan)

Web + Database Design